St John’s Wood
St. John’s Wood and the surrounding areas are very well renowned, populated areas, with many shopping and leisure amenities. The gently sloping parks of both Regent’s Park and Primrose Hill, provide the area with breathtaking open-air pleasurable facilities.
One time held by William the Conqueror, St. John’s Wood was in time bestowed on the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem, thus its current name. During restructuring, the land changed hands and was split into two main estates, a long thin strip of land along the Edgware Road and the Eyre Estate, which still remains in place today.
St John’s Wood
During the Middle Ages, St. John’s Wood was mainly woodland. This area had been the hiding place for Anthony Babington, following the unearthing of his plan to place Mary Queen of Scots on the throne and murder Queen Elizabeth. However, the woodland was cut down and market gardens spread out over the land.
St. John’s Wood continued to flourish through the 17th and 18th centuries and later on the Regent’s Canal moved through the area. Still, it retained an atmosphere of country serenity, which attracted numerous professionals including artists, authors, philosophers and scientists.
St John’s Wood High Street
In 1849, the Great Central Railway was introduced through St John’s Wood and its serenity disappeared. During World War II, many of the outstanding houses that once inhabited the streets were destroyed. In 1950’s and 1960’s St Johns Wood proved to be an area of regeneration. Many of the older buildings of Carlton Hill and Clifton Hill were refurbished and smart townhouses evolved from the rubble of the villas.
St John’s Wood keeps its pleasant styles from many different eras. There are various styles of property within the area, largely being Victorian, Georgian, Edwardian, Art Deco and Regency. The area is favourably served by public transport to both the City and the West End.
Search for Properties in this area
< Back to Area Guides